TOP

 

 

My TANITA

Oiginal page version start date: Tuesday, 7th November 2017

Latest Update: Wednesday, 11th July 2018

 

Choose a testimonial, click on name, or just scroll down:

 

Shorty Clark

 

Judy Magee

 

Sandra Grayson

 

KJ Goodhew

– BM&S - TANITA-NZ

Latest Update: 11/7/2018

RD-953 “Supreme” Dual Frequency InnerScan with “Health Planet” App

BC-587 “Class Plus” InnerScan

 

KW-211 “Impressive” Kitchen scale

RD-953 “Supreme” Dual Frequency InnerScan with “Health Planet” App

 

 

Please excuse incomplete state of this page:  A work in progress!

 

NOTE: For optimised viewing: Our pages are best viewed with wide-screen Tablet, Laptop or Desktop. Sorry NOT suited to viewing with small phone size screens: You could try throwing from phone to your Smart-TV.  Also best viewed Google Chrome or MS IE or Edge:  NOT good using Firefox et al.

 

Tuesday, 14th December 2017

 

 

 

Judy

Judy Magee

 

BC-587 “Class Plus” InnerScan - Body Composition scanning scale

 

 

Me and my daughter

 

“I decided on March 18th this year (2017) that I needed to lose 10kg that had somehow snuck onto my scales over the last several years. What to do? I had already been to the gym for 10 years, which had kept me fit as well as trim, but my lifestyle did not always suit the regiment of attending classes at a certain time and place. I know enough about weight maintenance to understand that it is just basic maths. Calories in cannot exceed calories used. This is when my friend Kerry suggested monitoring my weight using a BC-587 scanning TANITA scale. With the help of a calorie-counting app and regular weighing, I worked to adjust my diet to fit with my life. 272 days and 8 kgs later you can see from my graph that I have achieved a diet that maintains the weight I want to be. I am so happy! Kerry laughs when I tell him how much I love my scales but I really do!”

 

 

 

BM&S Imports – TANITA-NZ says:

Judy’s achievement demonstrates a number of key factors toward achieving your goals.

One important factor is the rate of weight-loss was modest.  Research indicates that too rapid weight-loss creates high likelihood of bounce-back to where you were before. The body reacts and fights back against the shock of rapid weight-loss that some people give to it.  The ideal is to lose around only 0.25 kg (250 grams) per week to avoid re-active body-weight gain, putting it all back on, once one stops concentrating. The idea is to slowly create a new normal”. Fast weight-loss does not create a new normal. Judy’s rate is ideal averaging 200 to 333 grams per week dependent on finish date you take.

MORE here about BC-587 “Class Plus” InnerScan:

www.bc-587.nz

 

 

 

 

 

Start date: Tuesday, 7th November 2017

Latest update:  Wednesday, 11th July 2018

 

 

KJG

 

 

KJ Goodhew: Owner BM&S Imports – TANITA-NZ fronts up

 

Four years on from my last Mountain run at the NZ Masters Games My TANITA again will mirror and motivate my conditioning progress, hinting at potential race results toward February 2018…

 

 

The Big questions: Can I match performance of 4 years ago and how will I go adding a second smashing event, the 2000 meter Rowing Ergometer race, something I have not done for 20 years?

 

Putting it out there:  Setting Goals:

1.   Masters Games Mountain Run:  1 hour 53 minutes (was time 2014!)  Now dropped in favour of just Indoor Rowing as of 1/12/2017!

 

2.   Masters Games 2000m Rowing Ergometer:  7:00 minutes.

 

How to achieve these? Especially for the Hill Run, each excess kilogram in body-fat that comes off equates to minutes toward a better time!  But! For the rowing competition, being a shorter POWER event, I cannot afford to lose muscle! My TANITA will ensure it is body-fat only that I lose with no muscle loss, or even a little gain in this would be good for the Quad’s burn-blasting Erg race!

 

 

_____________________________________________

 

With around 2 months to go (1/12/2017 to 9/2/2018), my Goals and Event entries have changed! 

See Diary entry 1st December below! You can do that when you’re in Masters years! LOL.

_____________________________________________

 

 

Latest Diary entry below is, Wednesday 11th July 2018: (scroll below tables!)

 

My TANITA Body Composition progress:

 

RD-953

“Supreme”

Race day

2014

 

November

2017

December

2017

January

2018

Race day March 2018

icon body fat

18%

Setting # 2: “Standard” mode not “athlete”!

 

25.7%

“Standard” mode not “athlete”!

23.1%

23.5%

21.3%

icon muscle

64.4 kg

 

60.2

62.1

60.65

61.05

icon MQ

No data

 

45

51

49

56

58%

 

52.3

52.5

52.1

-

icon Age

42 years

 

57

48

50

44

icon visceral

8 /60

 

12.5

11.5

11.5

10.5

icon weight

84.9 kg

 

85.25

85.00

83.4

81.7kg

 

 

 

Performance progress: “measuring sticks”!

 

Activity

Description

October

2017

November

2017

December

2017

January

2017

Race day

2018

Erg

20 sec intervals

 

1:43 to 1:33

 

 

 

 

As you can see I haven’t been good at logging progress on this table: Too busy and tired from training plus a lot of other summer fun to have rather than be on this PC! ;-)

 

Erg

1 min x 7

intervals

 

Varying paces: 1:55 to 1:43

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Erg

500m x 4 intervals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Erg

3 min x 10 intervals

 

Varying paces: 2:00 to 1:53.8

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Erg

5, 7, or 10 min intervals

 

2x10min W at

1:59 to 1:58/500

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Erg

30 min TT

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Erg

10 km

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Run

Top Tanner Rd to 1st Summit

34:34

 

Run training was dropped in favour of rowing 1/12/17

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Run

John McG to Main Summit (2nd, actual)

 

 

dropped

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Diary:

Most recent at top: Scroll straight to bottom if you’re a first time read!

 

Wednesday 11th July 2018:

Well there was NZ Masters Games indoor rowing competition on 9th February and then it was straight into training for running for the Motatapu “15km Miner’s Trail Mountain Run” on 10th March.

 

A couple minutes to start-time

 

From competition day to competition day then taking a much needed holiday (18 months since last one!), then back to a hectic start to the business year, followed by my mother passing (one of those facts of life none of us will escape!) and then winter arriving with colds and flues, it has been hard to get back here to show how things turned out. Better late than never! ;-)

 

At today’s date, still struggling with tail-end (hopefully?) of an energy stealing chest virus, I feel I’ve lost my fitness gains of summer having done little 4 months down track. Trying to set and focus on some new resolutions. Have already paid entry for next March’s “Miner’s trail” getting a deal on that entry.

 

Okay, results of last Summer…

First up, …

NZ Masters Games Rowing Ergometer, 9th February 2018.

2000m race = 3rd.

Time: 7 m 14.5 s

 

https://www.nzmg.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/Indoor-Rowing-Pic2.jpg

I fractionally bettered my (reduced) anticipated result target of 7:15 but I was a little disappointed with the third placing. However, …

... I looked up previous year’s results to find 2017, 2016, 2014, 2012?, my time would have won the GOLD. All other years (2015, 2013, 2011) would have won at least the SILVER!!! These Games there were about 9 NZ records broken which must really be unheard of to have so many go down at the one meet. For some reason the standard in Indoor Rowing has jumped up and it has happened this year in Dunedin. The guy taking out Gold did a sensational time, about 40 seconds better than mine, and just 2 seconds off NZ Rowing’s official national record! It was clear his goal for these Games was the record, not just a medal.

 

There was a lot I took home from this first Erg race in 20 years.

 

First was, I needed to take the length of the build-up and the standard of the competition a lot more serious. Just 2 months concentrated specific-only rowing training didn’t cut it.

 

I needed to look for and enter a pre-Games event to get some race practice behind me. I didn’t really know how hard I could or should push myself.  Could I have gone at a faster pace earlier? The fact of finishing the last 500m hitting paces of 1:33m/500 when the early 3/4 of the race was at 1:50/500 indicates my average race-pace plan was under-done. Also, I was somewhat intimidated by the atmosphere at the venue.  It was very slick and sophisticated operation compared to 20 years ago on the latest “E” machines with a giant screen showing your position as simulated boats! I was also under-done with warm-up. I like a minimum 20 minutes warmup plus short race-pace intervals. People were queuing behind for too few warm-up machines, so I only got about 8 minutes. Psychologically (and physiologically) I wasn’t happy with that, not ready at all for a race. 

 

However, like a certain giant Austrian-American says in a movie franchise he “owns”:  “I’ll be back!”

 

___________________________

 

Second-up for Summer of 2018…

Motatapu: “15km - Miner’s Trail Mountain Run” on 10th March.

Place: 2nd (on the day!)

Webpage results a week later had me placed 3rd! Kind of a laugh.

Time: 1:59.21

 

I don’t know how the placings anomaly happened as I was given the 2nd place and prize on the day, stepping on podium to pick up the prize. LOL.  However, can only figure since the timing system triggers when you personally cross the start line, not as in previous years when the gun goes and you could be 50m back of crowd forced to walk slowly to cross the start line and only cross it several minutes later!. So, theoretically with new personal start trigger someone could be a half hour late for the start and be half hour behind you at the finish but still beat you by a few seconds. That’s only way I can figure it.

 

ANYWAY, I was really happy with my time and placing since I only had one month specific run training for it, and all along I felt on the back-foot in conditioning my legs from rowing to running condition in just 4 weeks.

 

In fact the suffering I had from my muscles converting from rowing work to running was one of the most hard-out things I’ve done in training for decades. It really hurt. After the first few runs for the next 2 weeks I could hardly run. Most training was just walking up Flagstaff (666m) and hurting like hell with down-hill jogging or just walking down too when that got too much.

 

Note to self: NEVER AGAIN do a build-up to a mountain run event with a rowing competition a month out and just a month specific foot-work before event day!

 

 

In summary…

What did my Masters games and Motatapu goals do for my physical condition over the summer?

 

This summary table compares condition (body composition) of race-day 4 years ago, 2014, to November 2017 when I started thinking about training, to March race-day of 2018.

 

RD-953

“Supreme”

Race day

2014

November

2017

Race day March 2018

Miner’s Trail

15km MTR

1:53:26

 

1:59:21

(New course!)

icon body fat

18%

Setting # 2: “Standard” mode not “athlete”!

25.7%

“Standard” mode not “athlete”!

21.3%

icon muscle

64.4 kg

60.2

61.05

icon MQ

No data

45

56

58%

52.3

-

icon Age

42 years

57

44

icon visceral

8 /60

12.5

10.5

icon weight

84.9 kg

85.25

81.7kg

 

You can see that in terms of body-fat % from November at 25.7%, I had a long way to go and did not match the good level of 18% of 2014.  However there are complex composition interactions here. I did significantly reduce total body-weight over 2014 race-weight and also over the season’s start-weight in November: 84.9, 85.25, and 81.7. It is always easier getting up mountains carrying less weight. Near 4 kg less! You definitely feel the ease this creates.

 

Simple calculation converting percentage body-fat to weight in fat I get…

 

Body-fat

2014:   84.9 x 18% = 15.3kg

2017:   85.25 x 25.7% = 21.9 kg

2018:   81.7 x 21.3% = 17.4 kg

 

In conclusion, I got within 2 kg of fat-weight of 2014 and feel I did well to carve off from a season-start total of over 20kg!  Again, as commented above, I needed another month.

 

Added to this complexity, the intrigue is that in 2014 I carried significantly more muscle than race-day 2018.  Consider this 3 kg reduction in “muscle” (lean) weight from 2014 to 2018, which corresponds to the reduction in total bodyweight across those years! It could be concluded that carrying a little more in total weight is okay so long as that total weight is more “muscle” rather than made up of body-fat?

 

New measure Muscle Quality (MQ):

There is no MQ measure for 2014 since it is a new measure featured in the latest “RD” TANITA models. It sure would have been interesting to have one for 2014 since the values for season start in November 2017 to Race-day 2018 show a dramatic improvement, with MQ’s of 45 to 56 respectively!                                                                 

 

The TANITA manual states…

 

MQ score tables from manual 060618

 

I’m quite pleased with an MQ of 56 at my age, but I’m keen to “play” with this value to see how far I can take it next season.  I would like to get into the mid-60’s to 70 to be clearly “High” MQ.  ;-)

 

 

 

_______________________________________

 

 

Wednesday 7th February 2018:

Two days to Race day and now 7 days into tapering schedule the wheels had come off immediately after the 35 celsius day, 31st January when I did my last proper training session.  The temps plummeted to 15C and lower as the high for the day and typical! …somehow (who from?) I got a raging head-cold, streaming sneezing nose with headache, making me feel as grumpy as a Bear with a sore head.  It has lasted 7 days with it only just significantly relenting, appearing to be leaving me today.  I’ve rested up near every-day saving my energy to try and throw it. So I have done almost none of the planned tapering sequence that I got from Arthur Lydiard years ago.

 

To be sure of getting to the finish line without collapsing before it I’ve set my sites slightly lower again as my target time.  Originally it was 7 minutes flat, then 7:10, now I’m picking 7:15 that I should still do okay and hopefully medal with still a chance for the Gold going by times of previous Games.

 

Next post is post-race.  Wish me luck, I need it now after a bit of a rotten week health wise, needing to get rid of lingering weakness as the bot leaves.

 

Wednesday 31st January 2018:

Well in some ways we’re here, times up, training is done.  From entry, 17th Jan, got as frequently as possible plenty of high intensity race-pace work done without collapsing into a heap for several days.

 

Today was the last day of this high intensity phase leaving 8 days to bring it down, recover from the weeks of load, and feel fresh with the odd sharpener short time-trials interspersed with easy recovery days.

 

Did my last set of 4 x 500 m intervals to see where I’m at HR wise.  This is copy and paste direct from my log-book on Concept2 website:

 

Intervals

Time

Meters

Pace

Watts

Cal/Hr

S/M    HR

 

7:00.7

2,000m

1:45.1

301

1334

29

 

1:49.0

500m

1:49.0

270

1229

28

148

1:47.0

500m

1:47.0

286

1282

28

152

1:43.9

500m

1:43.9

312

1372

29

157

1:40.8

500m

1:40.8

342

1474

32

164

r122m

 

 

 

 

Monday 29th January 2018:

Got a good confidence boost from today’s intervals.  Decided to lactate test to know where my 4 mmol Threshold is (anaerobic threshold) to come up with this result…

 

 

 

 

 

2000m

Test Target @ min/500 pace

ACTUAL

@ min/500 pace

HR

Mmol

lactic acid

1

2:00 / 500

1:59.7

HR monitor problem!

3.4

2

1:55 / 500

1:54.9

145

4.1

3

1:53 / 500

1:52.9

HR monitor problem!

6.3

 

Knowing that my long distance threshold pace is around 1:55/500 means that I can take it down 5 sec’s per 500 to 1:50/500 for 2,000m racing.  Back in the day, the youthful differential from Threshold to 2000m racing may have been about 10 secs.  That is, if I had a Threshold then of 1:55 I may have been able to sustain 1:45/500 on race day.  We did massive volume in training in those days to sustain such high pace above Threshold for a whole 2,000m! However, 20 years out of rowing, lacking race conditioning, and only 2 months concentrating on depth of condition in building serious volume specific to the Rowing Ergometer, I am erring to what I hope is a realistic target of 1:50/500 on race day at the Masters Games, 9th February.  This would give a 7 minute 20 second race result. Yes, a considerable drop in the original goal of 7 minutes flat, but I don’t want to do anything stupid to myself; I’m not 30 years old!  Hopefully if I can sustain 1:50 for most of the race, in the last 500 meters I may have something left to take the pace up to sprint home for something better than 7:20.

 

 

My business BM&S Imports – lactate.co.nz is also the original long-time importer-distributor of small portable lactate test diagnostic meters for sport, health (cardiac rehab and child-birth), veterinary and equine practise. Also used for everyday weight-loss programme goal-setting or recreational sport participants who seek accurate objective intensity prescription. LactatePro2 is the most used such device in New Zealand, quite likely the most preferred device in the world.

We've proudly supplied the NZ high performance sport sector, Olympic athletes and their coaches, for near on two and a half decades.  We’ve noticed over all these years that NZ’s most successful sports are the biggest users of our “LP2”!

 

www.lactate.co.nz

 

 

Wednesday 17th January 2018:

You can see the “telling off” got my volume up dramatically. 

 

I found it hard getting to 6 hours or more Rowing per week, psychologically and physically. I’m fairly sure when I was running and rowing May through November I was able to easily turn out a 6 hours per week exercise week most weeks through running, but, I was not logging it so not absolutely sure. My sense is running is easier than rowing (have I said this already?).  I think this is in major part enjoyment factor: I like the bush and open mountain top trails greatly compared to sitting stationary on a machine!

 

 

However!  I did crank it up to 349km for the month of December being 87km average for 4 weeks.

One has to bear in mind that the Concept2 algorithm is akin to Coxless Four or Quad boat speed performance, not that of an on-water Single Sculler.  I made calculations years ago, to analogise such a 349km outcome would be about 80% for on-water Single Scull distance or speed. e.g.  If I was on-water rather than on Erg I would probably have rowed around 349 x 80% = 279km or 70km per week.  I think that is still not too bad since it is 20 years since I’ve done that kind of effort. It has left me bu***d some days that’s for sure.

 

The build-up I’m doing is classic Arthur Lydiard compressed into 2 months.

 

January is not finished yet!  You can see the volume is already knocked back in January somewhat since I’ve already switched to increased high intensity intervals.  Even so, half way through this month I’m at 158km!  If I can hold onto this and still do my desired power/speed work increases, am still looking at around 320km.  Then it is 9 days tapering off, another crucial phase, with method taken straight from the “horse’s mouth”, Arthur himself, around 30 years ago.  One season way back then a good friend and stela light-weight rower Mark Conway, who was Arthur’s neighbour, we rolled up to the guru himself!  We were perplexed how to taper off properly so we asked him how to do it, being the method I’ve stuck with for myself and training others to this day!

 

My TANITA:

You can see in the table above that most stats are in the right direction.

 

Ironically I’m most pleased about dropping 2kg of Body Weight, the simplest measure of all. 

 

There is no increase in Muscle Mass (lean weight).  This is to be expected since endurance training does not build muscle mass!  Body water has not changed.  One could have expected this to increase with improved condition.  However we’re having unprecedented hot weather, 30C + some days, with no choice but to get the training done in it:  The effect could be constant state of dehydration.  You’re not meant to measure after a hard or a lot of training, however, this cannot be avoided either, one cannot stop training for a day in order to get more certainty with Body Composition measures. Anyway, showing state of hydration is one of the most important TANITA measures since performance is seriously detrimentally affected when dehydrated.

 

It is important to realise that Muscle Mass is better thought of as “lean mass” since your muscles are mostly water! Your lean mass is composed of everything that is not fat!  This includes the water content of your muscles.  Dependent on your hydration and state of fitness your muscles are 50 to 70% of water.  Therefore if you are dehydrated your Muscle Mass (lean weight) may also correspondingly show a reduction!  Since we are dealing with percentages (portions), if you change one portion (percent) it will likely have an effect on other portions:  This is why with dehydration you may see an increase in the portion for that day that is your Body Fat.  Your TANITA’s CPU (computer chip) does a lot of intricate calculations.  Results may seem perplexing and reversals some days are frustrating, but there is a lot going on in the scan calculations: They do add-up: The machine has no choice but to measure you exactly as you present that moment that day, and our bodies are not machines like a car and its engine.  A biological “engine” changes every second of every day of every year, therefore so too will all off its “measurements”. Not much is constant in measurement of a biological organism!

 

Simple maths to explain things:

For example, see my Bodyfat % has roughly not changed since early December being around 23%. That is around 6 weeks apparent plateau!  However is it a plateau?  What has changed is my Total Body Weight has gone from 85kg to around 83kg, a 2kg weight loss.

 

23% is a proportion of my Total Weight!

 

85kg x 23% Body Fat = 19.55 kg Bodyfat WEIGHT.

 

83kg x 23% Bodyfat =  19.09 kg Bodyfat WEIGHT

 

19.55kg – 19.09kg = 0.46 kg Fat Loss WEIGHT.

 

In 6 weeks I lost 460 grams of fat (lard around my belly!).  Or, 76 grams per week!

 

If I kept that up for a year, …

52 weeks x 76 grams = 3,952g :  Or, 4 kilograms Body Fat can be lost in one year at this rate!

 

Four kilograms off 19 would give 15 kg body fat WEIGHT.

 

If I maintained the same weight of 83kg this would give 18% Bodyfat (down from 23%!) at year end.

 

All simple maths:  But easier, Your TANITA does it all for you!  :-)

 

Think I’ll go for that long term goal.

 

__________________________________

 

 

 

 

 

Wednesday 13th December:

The serious talking to “self” worked! Had me decide to do a full week training EVERY day, with the goal 10K per day.  Did it! There were definite peaks and troughs. Each day was completely unpredictable as to how “the bod” and energy would respond.

 

This week I am doing same, although putting a little of each of the high intensity training types on top of the basic distance work (LSD = long slow distance!).  However I am down one day already: I had Monday off as was just smashed and groggy by end of day.  In that state did not think anything, even a slow recovery workout, would do any good.  So, have decided to throw some one hour sessions in to bring up 60k for the week. If I can do 60K, including various high intensity additions to basic mileage, with one day off, I’ll be happy with that for “Week 2” gone of 8.

 

Today I got my on-line order for a Garmin Premium HR Monitor, ANT+, which is just a transmitter.  It puts my “revs” up on the Concept2 PM5 Monitor.  My old Polar went kaput a month ago which I used to have strapped around the handle of the Erg. It was a surprise when I got the new Concept2 PM5 to find there was no compatibility with Polar. Old Concept2 models Polar used to connect! Concept2 have gone with the ANT+ transmission protocol.

 

I’ve been training “blind” to the “engine’s” effort for too long. It is good to know the intensity by HR again.

 

First day back to HR monitoring I did 7 x 1min @ around 1:45/500 pace.  I don’t recall my HR going over 140 bpm and ratings were mostly around 26 – 28.  It pleasingly surprised me: Showed I was not overly stretched. Time to increase one of the variables … duration, or pace, or the number of intervals.

_______________________________________

 

Friday 1st December:

Well what a difference a month makes.

 

Have had to give myself a good talking to!  ;-)

 

Did a good month of training but combined with seeing just over 60 days to start of the Games I realised I am nowhere near capacities I need to be on the Erg.  Not even sure I am where I need to be to match my previous self on the Mountain Run. Running still feels like I’m jogging with only occasional glimpses of the feel of actual running.  I made a weight-loss graph back in August and wanted to be around 82kg by now, but I’m still around 85.

 

Have decided to be realistic that, since I’m not 28, have to admit I can no longer recruit the depth and recovery from training that I would need to do both of these events justice. 

 

They are at different ends of specific fitness requirements:  One is around an hour, mostly aerobic, the other all over in 7 minutes, about 30% anaerobic-power requirement (beyond one’s aerobic or oxygen use capacity!).  Therefore there are quite different physiological requirements, and consequently training intensities to be considered. 

 

It’s the fundamental training principle of specificity:  Just like, you don’t go swimming to improve your Mountain Biking!

 

Admitting I’m not quite up to this these days, especially when there is still the 9 to 5 business to stay on, to be sure that one is in at least some good semi-un-exhausted civil state for the Monday to Friday treadmill! 

 

So! I have let the Mountain Run go.  I have rationalised this since exactly one month after the Masters Games Indoor Rowing competition there is the Motatapu Miner’s Trail Mountain Run in Arrowtown on the very auspicious date of 9th of March, which I have done several times over the past decade.

 

 

https://motatapu.com/event-summary/miners-trail

 

 

Therefore I’m still doing a Masters category Mountain Run and Rowing Ergometer competition; they are just a month apart!

 

Making this decision has made me feel a whole lot better including sensing a much better chance of hitting my 2000m Rowing Ergometer target in the now short, close, 60 days duration to tapering.  I can do the high intensity work now without having to do Mountain run training which had been exhausting my energies leaving little left for high intensity Rowing sessions.

 

 

Ducklings! My workout fan club.

 

__________________________

 

First Diary entry…

 

Tuesday 7th November:

Decided to put this Page including  Diary up so “newcomers” to TANITA BIA scanning scales can see how My TANITA can work for you … hinting at how it can be applied to any kind of weight-loss, health, fitness, or serious sport goal.

 

On Thursday 2nd November just gone I had an even 90 days to tapering for the Masters Games!

 

Lately I have been struggling to get any quality training done. Got some kind of gastro-bug 2 weeks ago that just won’t go away. Thought I would try to cook it out with a run on Thursday to the first summit on a hot day. Well I did that, just! , but with it biting me back to make me feel much worse for the next 5 days. So I’m down to just doing the odd workout that is strictly light aerobic, not pushing into any high intensity.

 

For these Masters Games I have decided to use one of our latest and greatest, just launched 2016, an RD-953 wireless “Supreme”.  I do have a preference for the Segmentals with their separate upper body measures, however the “953” has amongst many new features one that stands-out for me being “MQ” (muscle quality) measurement.  With my goals for this Masters Games needing to maintain or optimise muscle, I am very curious to see how this new measure tracks over 3 months as I cut some lard from my body.

 

 

____________________________

 

 

 

Go to our RD-953 page:  www.tanita-nz.co.nz/#RD953

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday, 21st March 2017

 

Sandra

Sandra Grayson

 

KW-211 “Impressive” Kitchen scale – semi commercial standard

 

Proud Me and my daughter

 

“Hi BM&S Imports – TANITA-NZ, the scales are fab. Mum thinks she is a real professional weighing her cheeses on it, lol. Thank you so much, where shall I put feedback?”

 

“We bought a set of scales recently at TANITA-NZ, a KW-211 “Impressive”. What an amazing set of scales, we make artisan cheeses and require accurate scales to the gram. Easy to follow instructions. Our customers and our staff appreciate the legibility of the screen and the large platform. The delivery was fast, we would highly recommend to all others wanting easy accurate scales. Thank you BM&S Imports – TANITA-NZ”.

 

- Sandra Grayson.

 

 

 

BM&S Imports – TANITA-NZ says:

Our relatively inexpensive semi-commercial KW-211 is perfect for small NZ “cottage industries”. It is water and dust-proof commercial standard in a “home” scale at half the price you would pay for a high spec commercial model.  Kiwis asked us for such a scale as this so we got it for them!

 

MORE here:

www.tanita-nz.co.nz/#kitchen

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday, 18th February 2014

 

Shorty

Shorty Clark…

…(Shorty) is all concentration on his way to winning his local Taranaki triathlon several years ago.

 

Shorty frequently represents New Zealand and annually takes out National Championship placings.

 

Shorty uses a TANITA InnerScan Segmental to monitor his fitness condition

 

I first had contact with Shorty over a dozen years ago when he’d just started his interest in Triathlon and was a pie-eating, beer drinking, high intensity training junkie.  If he did not fall on the ground hyper-ventilating flapping around like a fish on land after training he thought he hadn’t trained well enough.

 

Amongst other things, Shorty took to use of our Lactate testing meter, a heart rate monitor, a continuous study of nutrition, and one of our TANITA “scanning” body composition monitors to give him clarity in what changes were happening to his physique: His body has transformed dramatically in 12 years not entirely visible by just looking from the outside, and not at all evident with just weight measurement. Especially of interest while his fitness and results improved was his percentage of bodyfat to muscle weight and total bodyweight, and the later realisation that the total body-water measure is a key determinant of performance: That is he makes sure that he is hydrated!  Research indicates that both mental and physical performance and your immune system function significantly better when you are hydrated – so it is valuable to measure and optimise it!

 

Shorty is just over 60 but such is his condition that his TANITA “Segmental” has his metabolic (physical) age at just 40.  He was an original advocate of Dr Barry Sears’ Zone Diet and these days he swears by the benefits of the Paleo diet, especially for its bonus in reducing joint inflammation.

 

We can’t all be champions like Shorty but we can all become champions of a long life of good health, and to look good!  A TANITA InnerScan helps you achieve your goals like nothing else can.

 

Height:                                    1.73 M

Weight:                                67.3 kg

Age:                                          62  (March 2014)

Physical age:                          40

Bodyfat – Athlete mode:  5.5%

Bodyfat – standard:            13%

BMI                                         22   clearly a nonsense in having no relationship to actual bodyfat or obesity!

 

“Those scales are great; still use them 3 times a week. Keeps me in real check that’s for sure”. – Shorty Clark

Article by: KJ Goodhew, Director: BM&S Imports – TANITA-NZ

 

Top